LOVE is an action word

We all know the song L-O-V-E by Nat King Cole. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JErVP6xLZwg. It’s one of those songs that once you hear it you can’t help but hum all day long, it’s catchy like that. I have it as a ringtone for my beloved when he calls me. Every time my phone goes off and I hear the first note a smile spreads across my face. Not one of those ‘Oh great, what now’ kind of smiles… a genuine honest to goodness giddy smile.

‘L is for the way you look at me… O is for the only one I see… V is very-very, extraordinary… E is even more than anyone that you adore. Love is all that I can give to you, Love is more than just a game for two. Two in LOVE can make it take my heart and please don’t break it, Love was made for me and you.’ The lyrics in the song are simple but the meaning deep. Something about this song makes me want to fall in love with my husband over and over again.

After almost 14 years I am not embarrassed or ashamed to admit that my beloved has the ability to sweep me off my feet. On this earth there is only one person with whom I am completely free to be myself. There is one person who despite my flaws loves me with no reservations. That person is my beloved, my soul mate, the one that I will chase forever with. With one look, one gentle touch, or softly spoken word my beloved can make my heart race and my face blush like a school girl. I am smitten, enchanted, captivated by him… the one my heart beats for. Each day as I wake up I thank God for another day to freely give him the love that He has shown me. I am blessed with a fresh opportunity for my beloved to not only hear, but see and feel this love.

Loving is not always easy. Loving is not always on my first inclination, believe me there are times when love is the furthest thought from my mind. However, for me love is a conscious act. I choose to love. Love my husband ardently and with fervor. Sometimes this requires me to pray, asking God to help me love my husband the way he deserves to be loved. Other times it requires me to set aside my pride and selfish desires knowing that this in itself is an act of pure love.

Our marriage has not always been easy. Just like every couple we’ve had our struggles. We have fought and said things that are hurtful, we have cried and asked for forgiveness. We are only human after all. Through our trials and tests as a couple we have learned the key lesson that is behind the lyrics of this song. The lesson that two people in love can make it. Make it through the trials, the hurts, the anger, the tears and come up on top still fighting for what we believe in… LOVE. We as a couple can daily choose to actively love each other not just with our words but our actions. Will our hearts at times be broken? Yes. Do we trust that God can mend what is broken and make it stronger than it was before? Yes. Love was made for me and it was made for you. It is the greatest commandment and the one thing aside from God that has kept my marriage strong.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

